Skip to main content

Vancouver medical staff honour luminaries and visionaries


(L to R) Drs. Eric Yoshida, Simon Rabkin, Lynn Beattie (inductee); Her Honour, The Honourable Lieutenant Governor of BC Janet Austin, and Dr. Stephen Nantel stand in front of the VGH Medical Staff Hall of Honour.

On January 31, Vancouver's Medical, Dental & Allied Staff Association celebrated the second annual class of inductees into the VGH Medical Staff Hall of Honour.

Joined by The Honourable Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, Drs. Simon W. Rabkin, Eric Yoshida and Stephen Nantel hosted the event honouring the achievements of this year's celebrants.

Inductees have made significant contributions to their respective fields and have received honours such as the Order of Canada and Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

(Photo: Dr. Eric Yoshida, Dr. Simon Rabkin, Her Honour, The Honourable Lieutenant Governor of BC Janet Austin, inductee Dr. Juhn Wada, nominator Dr. Brenda Kosaka, Dr. Stephen Nantel)

The 2019 inductees are…

After careful consideration, the committee selected the following physicians as the 2019 inductees:

  • Dr. B Lynn Beattie

  • Dr. Joachim Burhenne

  • Dr. Stephen M Drance

  • Dr. H Rocke Robertson

  • Dr. Juhn A Wada

Inductees and their families were in attendance and were visibly moved.

(Photo: Dr. Eric Yoshida, Dr. Simon Rabkin, Her Honour, The Honourable Lieutenant Governor of BC Janet Austin, Dr. Mark Burhenne—accepting the award on behalf of his father, Dr. Joachim Burhenne—and Dr. Stephen Nantel.)

“Induction into the Hall of Honour is awarded to so very few physicians, and this year's inductees are such luminaries; I am so very touched by this recognition," says Dr. Linda Warren, wife of the late Dr. Joachim Burhenne.

“Dr. Wada was very happy to have been inducted," says Dr. Brenda Kosaka, who nominated him. “He felt honoured to be in the company of his past colleagues Dr. Donald Paty and Dr. Felix Durity."

“I am very proud," says Ian Robertson, accepting the award on behalf of his father Dr. H. Rocke Robertson. “Dad never sought the limelight, but was always in it anyway, and enjoyed it. He was very aware of the importance of his work, to his patients as well as to the medical systems and community, but he left it to others to talk about it. This sort of concrete recognition of his achievements would have meant a lot to him."

The VGH Physician Hall of Honour is the first of its kind in Western Canada; it stands on the main floor of the Jim Pattison Pavilion near the public elevators.

(Photo: Inductee Dr. Stephen Drance and Dr. Hugh Chaun.)

About the Medical Staff Hall of Honour

The Hall of Honour was created by the Vancouver Medical, Dental and Allied Staff Association (VMDAS), in partnership with hospital administration and the VGH & UBC Hospital Foundation, to commemorate VGH's 110th Anniversary in 2016 and the 150th Anniversary of Canada's Confederation in 2017.

Eligibility for the Hall includes service at a VGH or VCH affiliated institution for a significant proportion of the candidate's career, retirement from VCH for a minimum of three years, and strong clinical contributions to VGH and/or VCH.

The Hall of Honour founding committee includes: Drs. Eric Yoshida (Committee Chair), Marshall Dahl (Head of Endocrinology, immediate past-Chair VMDAS), Stephen Nantel (Head of Hematology), Simon W. Rabkin (current Chair VMDAS), and VDMAS administrative assistants Jennifer Laxamana and Frances Perry.

SOURCE: Vancouver medical staff honour luminaries and visionaries ( )
Page printed:

Copyright © Vancouver Coastal Health. All Rights Reserved.