Skip to main content

VCH Physiotherapy Excellence Award winners


Above photo: VCH  Physiotherapy Excellence Awards: Research Excellence Award Kei Nishikawa & Jennifer Bermingham; Outstanding New Grad Ryan Wong; and Catalyst of Innovative Practice Emma O'Shea.

​Vancouver Coastal Health's 2018 Physiotherapy Excellence Awards were presented at the annual STEP UP education event on April 16th.   

Kei Nishikawa and Jennifer Bermingham

Kei Nishikawa and Jennifer Bermingham received the Research Excellence Award for their VCHRI research Challenge project that looked at the impact of chemotherapy protocols on ankle range of motion for bone marrow transplant patients. 

They also did a poster presentation at this year's BC Patient Safety & Quality forum and will be presenting at the National Physiotherapy Congress in November.  

Ryan Wong

Ryan Wong graduated from UBC in Nov 2017. He received the Outstanding New Graduate Excellence Award for his work on vascular/general surgery where he has been integrating knowledge learned in school and applying it to real life situations. The interdisciplinary staff know they can rely on him to get the job done in a ​safe and timely manner which is difficult on such a busy and diverse ward. 

Emma O'Shea

Emma O'Shea is the winner of the Catalyst for Innovative Practice Excellence Award for her work on T12 Lung Transplant and Thoracics unit. 

She is an expert and clinical champion for the physiotherapy management of pulmonary conditions and pulmonary rehab. After seeing the number of lung transplants triple over recent years, she developed a BC Post Lung Transplant Information and Exercise Manual to improve the lives of post transplant patients after discharge. 

She also advocated for the addition of a Rehab Assistant to ensure that the best possible care can be provided to our thoracic patients, Emma constantly shares her knowledge and expertise by mentoring frontline staff as well as preceptoring & teaching students at UBC. 

Congratulations to all the winners! 

SOURCE: VCH Physiotherapy Excellence Award winners ( )
Page printed:

Copyright © Vancouver Coastal Health. All Rights Reserved.