Skip to main content

[VIDEOS] People First Award winners shine at ceremony


Above photo: Mary Ackenhusen, VCH President and CEO, recognizes employees for outstanding work in the categories of Person-Centred Care, Innovation, Teamwork, Unsung Hero, Volunteering and Leadership.

On the afternoon of June 20th we celebrated our People First Award winners for going above and beyond in the workplace. We’re on a journey towards building a better workplace culture, and all of our winners—and all of our nominators—are shining examples of what it means to care about each other as much as we care about those we serve. 

Watch the ceremony highlights

High five to all of our award winners!

We surprised the Award of Excellence winners with tribute videos capturing kind words from their colleagues—watch the videos below.

Person-Centred Care award winners

Award of Excellence:

Wanda Lauw, Community Health Nurse, Home Health, Three Bridges Community Health Centre

Awards of Merit:

  • Jayna deRoon, Public Health Nurse, Public Health/Nurse Family Partnership Program, Sunshine Coast
  • Patience Anne Lee, Social Worker, Tertiary Mental Health Older Adult Assessment & Treatment Unit, Willow Pavilion, VGH
  • Wendy Morrison, Resident Care Coordinator, Totem Lodge, Sechelt

Innovation award winners

Award of Excellence:

C. Difficile Canine Scent Detection Program, VGH: Dr. Elizabeth Bryce, Dr. Diane Roscoe, Allison Muniak, Sarah Rothwell, VGH Housekeeping staff, Angus and Dodger (our two canine C. Diff detectors), Teresa Zurberg

Awards of Merit:

  • Sean Parr, Executive Director, CST Site Implementation, Coastal
  • Hematology and Transfusion Medicine, VGH: Kanwal Deol, Jim Yakimec, Todd Markin, Geoffrey Chan, Lawrence Sham, Dr. Tyler Smith, Teri Dahlgren
  • Lisa Stewart, Director, Clinical Quality & Patient Safety, Richmond

Teamwork & Collaboration award winners

Award of Excellence:

Tunnel Transformation Working Group: Ron Schurko, Christopher Linden, Craig Thompson, Mary Heim, Doug McLean, Ray Rahiman, Lisa Parker, Shawn Romack, Dan Sandberg, Manuel Estacio, Maninder Shergill, Randy Thomas, Keyvan Rahbar, Gillian Hobbs, Sydney Scharf, Diana Firican, Helen Tam, Ian Tait, Chandler Tate, Ema McMillan, Ryan Shiells, Ramandeep Johal, Linda Khera, Kate Dickerson, Erwin Torres

 Awards of Merit:

  • DTES Network: Staff of the Downtown, Pender & Heatley Community Health Centres, Vancouver Community
  • iPACE Project Team (Integrating a Palliative Approaching by having Conversations Early), Regional End of Life: Nadya Repin, Jane Webley, Ingrid See, Sarah Lau, Umilla Stead, Katerina Velecky, Dara Lewis, May Lok, Pegah Mortazavi, Ken Hawkins, Michelle Pan, Janine Sam
  • Overdose Emergency Response Team, Regional Prevention: Sally Kupp, Shannon Riley, Sarah Levine, Sebastien Payan, Rebecca Thomas, Harriet Heeley, Airi Nakamoto, Erika Bell, Marissa Mar, Helenka Jedrzejowski, Dr. Mark Lysyshyn, Dr. Reka Gustafson, Miranda Compton, Troy Shannon, Chris VanVeen, Elizabeth Holliday, Misty Bath, Tim Chu, Erin Isnor, Skye Ruttle, Robyn Putnam-Mclean, Chris Dickinson, Jesse Hilburt

Unsung Hero award winners

Awards of Excellence (Clinical):

Andy Au Yeung, Occupational Therapist, Tertiary Mental Health Older Adult Assessment & Treatment, Willow Pavilion, Vancouver General Hospital

Award of Excellence (Non-Clinical):

Stephanie Yu, Senior Administrative Secretary, Residential Care, Richmond Lions Manor Bridgeport 

Awards of Merit:

  • Joseph Willems, Youth Care Worker, Carlile Youth Concurrent Disorder Centre, HOpe Centre (Clinical)
  • Anne Motha, Registered Nurse, Operating Room, Richmond Hospital (Clinical)
  • Dr. Sreedhara Nagendran, Attending Psychiatrist, Richmond (Clinical)
  • Kirsty Cole, Administrative Associate, Mental Health & Substance Use, Richmond (Non-Clinical)
  • Allison Ho-Rewcastle, Human Resources Advisor, Employee Relations (Non-Clinical)
  • Renee Stephens, Administrative Supervisor 6, Early Psychosis Intervention and Eating Disorders Program, Goldcorp Mental Health Building/Sunrise (Non-Clinical)

Volunteering award winners

Award of Excellence:

Chemotherapy Clinic Volunteers, Lions Gate Hospital

Awards of Merit:

  • Amanda GW Wong, various sites
  • Damian Feldman-Kiss, various sites

Leadership award winners

Award of Excellence:

Robert O’Neill, Residential Services Manager, Banfield Pavilion 

Awards of Merit:

  • Misty Bath & Elizabeth Holliday, Managers, STOP/HIV, Overdose Outreach, Harm Reduction, HIV Prevention & Aboriginal Partnerships teams, Regional Prevention
  • Natalie McCarthy, Director, Residential Care, Mental Health & Substance Use, Richmond
  • Colleen Moberg, Manager, Public Health & Prevention and Home & Community Care - Sea to Sky, Squamish Community Health Centre
SOURCE: [VIDEOS] People First Award winners shine at ceremony ( )
Page printed:

Copyright © Vancouver Coastal Health. All Rights Reserved.